THIS. IS. NOT. A. BLOG.

At least, I don’t think it is….

 

Definitions of blogs vary from,

‘a Web site containing the writer’s or group of writers’ own experiences, observations, opinions, etc., and often having images and links to other Web sites. ‘ (dictionary.com)

to

‘a personal website or web page on which an individual records opinions, links to other sites, etc. on a regular basis.’ (Oxford dictionary)

 

So, is this a blog?

 

‘Experiences’:this blog contains basically none of my own experiences. I’m certainly not one to write about myself; partly because that’s vain and also because there are more interesting and important things to write about than my life. Would this blog be better if I included personal interests and experiences?

‘Observations’: my only observations so far include trips of public transport! And even then, they’re only basic observations anyone could make.

‘Opinions’: ah-ha! Here we go. Book reviews are a constant and regular source of my opinions right? As do my day-by-day reviews of the Euros.

‘Links to other sites’: I do actually do this occasionally as I see it as the only way the blogging world can grow and expand. It’s one of the best way for readers to find the blogs they like, and blogs to be discovered by the right kind of readers. I’m currently working on a few posts about other blogs for the future.

‘Images’: I take part in the Weekly Photo Challenge, so that’s one blog a week with an image but that is basically it, unless you include my picture at the head of this blog. My excuse is that all I own is a camera phone and the quality isn’t good enough but really it is. Would my blog be better with pictures?

 

I like to think of this blog as more of a collection of everything I write. Basically everything I write, I post. There are two reasons for this. Firstly, so that others can read and like, comment or follow my work. Secondly it means I don’t waste the limited storage space on my computer….

I like to think it’s a bit like a newspaper. There’s a little bit of everything for everyone. Reviews, sports, debates, poems, quotes, photos. Is it better to have a specific site, or one that varies its topic?

 

Do you like my blog? If so, why? If not, why not?

Could I improve? How could I improve? Tell me!

4 thoughts on “THIS. IS. NOT. A. BLOG.

Leave a Reply

