The Big Issue costs £2.50…do you pay for the paper or the face?

Today, I bought the big issue for the first time. Partly to read something on the bus. Partly to look at a different type of journalism. Was it worth my £2.50?

Yes. One hundred percent. Will I buy it every week from now on? Yes. One hundred percent. Why? Did I enjoy it? Yes. It’s a newspaper. It gave me the news. It did its job.But so could a broadsheet or red-top. What makes this different?

Was it the look on the woman’s face when she took my money and handed me the paper? It was-at first. She smiled. A quiet almost shy because she didn’t know me, but confident because after all she’s a seller and I’m a customer. She wants me back. It was also the smile of a woman who wasn’t often handed money. Now I am by no means rich, but handing out £2.50 to another for a newspaper, instead of buying a glossy as I normally would, doesn’t exactly put me out. But this look on her face. I couldn’t get over it. She was so incredibly happy. So, yes, at first her face did make me want to buy the paper again. But, then her face, and this is by no means personal, made me feel a tiny bit nauseous. How someone who ‘worked’ so close to me and so ‘lived’ so close to me, could gain such immense happiness from £2.50 sickened me.

6 thoughts on “The Big Issue costs £2.50…do you pay for the paper or the face?

  1. it is those that we do not give any thought to that we can learn from,

    the little things counts and if you can support and give someone a course for celebration why not do it everyday?

  2. It’s a disturbing fact of life that people that are so close to each other geographically can be financially poles apart. If you’re interested in finding out more about The Big Issue or The Big Issue Foundation then you might like to join us on our Big London Night Walk. It’s a sponsored 20km walk through London alongside some of our Big Issue vendors, seeing your city through their eyes. http://www.bigissue.org.uk/event/big-london-night-walk

  3. Good day very cool website!! Man .. Beautiful .
    . Wonderful .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to search out so many useful info right here within the post,
    we want work out extra strategies in this regard, thanks for
    sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

